After Eight Years With Facebook

I joined Facebook reluctantly in 2006. Mostly because it became a nessary communication tool while in film school. I pretty much fell in love with the platform. Pushing the limits of what could be done with social media, even got videos to go viral.  I had a Facebook and social media business where I helped small businesses use these tools to their advantage.

On October 5th I posted an offering in a group on Facebook. I offered to plant a food forest for folks at no cost, in the Vancouver area Free Market. The morning after I woke up to this:

image

I changed my name a few weeks ago in solidarity with the drag queens who were being targeted on facebook. There was someone going around and reporting all the drag queens as “fake.”

Facebook has a “real name” policy. This policy is in place to make sure people aren’t bullying one another. What’s stopping someone from making a Facebook account with a “real name” and bullying? I really don’t understand the mindset. All rhe while native peoples, trans folks and abuse survivors have their accounts suspended for “not using their real name.”

I will not be reentering Facebook. There are better ways out there. As technology goes, facebook is old news. In the mean time I’ll be putting my energy in to establishing food forests and working towards being free of capitalism in five years time.

Leave a comment