Old wounds opened up so they can heal

A post I recently made on my Facebook Timeline:

Making a commitment to love myself is easily one of the hardest things I’ve ever done in my life. Old wounds have burst open and in many ways I feel like a child trying to find my place in the world. Like a person caught in the rapids of life. And then experiencing stillness in-between the rapids that I approach. If I can’t love me through all my emotional, physiological and spiritual turmoil I certainly won’t be able to love anyone else going through it.

And so this is a part of my journey to love myself even as I experience great pain and feel as though I am less than, that I am a burden and that I am not worthy – that feeling comes from a false perception I have. When I embody the awareness that the perspective is false and it’s my choice to keep thinking it’s real, that it’s my identity – I’ll be on my way to deeper experiences of self-love. I’ll be more in love with life. And transformation can only happen in the present moment, it can not happen in the future. The future is the concept that now will happen later – hahaha

So I ask myself, can I do it, can I love myself?

My mantra has recently been: I am open and receptive to Love.
Another mantra I’m choosing to work on is: I am peace

—–
Wounds can be torn open and you can ignore them and they become infected – I would call that default. Or when those wounds are town open again you can apply medicine, wrap it up and keep tending to it until it’s healed. And that’s what I am putting my focus on right now. I’m cleaning out that long held emotional poison from my now raw and exposed wounds and making a better life for myself. I’m starting to see through the “eyes of Love.”

Some ways I clean my wounds is through meditation, contemplation and self-inquiry as offered by my friend and spiritual mentor Leeza Edwards Director of Universality of Transformation. What are some ways you clean out emotional poison from your wounds?

Leave a comment